7th Annual Monsoon School Jun 17 - Jun 26, 2019

Biology is essentially an interdisciplinary field and is in the forefront of modern physics and information sciences. The goal of this school is to:

(i) expose undergraduate students from mathematics, physical sciences and engineering backgrounds to exciting problems in biology through research talks by biologists, physicists and computer scientists. Topics include: the structure and function of biomolecules; the organization of cells; the development of organisms from embryos to adults; the structure and function of the brain; populations and ecosystems; and aspects of evolution.

(ii) provide pedagogical instruction on a range of mathematical topics, so that students will be better prepared to enter Ph.D. programmes in computational biology, systems biology, biophysics, and related areas. Topics include: biophysics and soft-matter physics, ranging from aspects of molecules to those of cells and tissues; information processing and decision making, at the level of cells or of the brain; stochastic processes in molecules or populations; genetic networks and feedback systems; biomechanics and robotics.


Tentative List of Speakers:

Mukund Thattai, Simons-NCBS

Shashi Thutupalli, Simons-NCBS

Shachi Gosavi, Simons-NCBS

Kavita Jain, JNCASR

Priya Iyer, CES, IISc

Kripa Gowrishankar, Azim Premji University

P. V. Shivaprasad, NCBS

Hiyaa Ghosh, NCBS

Anjana Badrinarayanan, NCBS

Radhika Venkatesan, NCBS

Venkat Ramaswamy, Simons-NCBS


The schedule will be announced very soon. 


Eligibility criteria:
All applicants must have completed atleast two years of their Undergraduate degree by June 2019, and not have participated in any of the previous Monsoon Schools. We encourage students from institutions across the country to apply for the Monsoon School.


Application Form:

Files must be less than 5 MB.
Allowed file types: pdf doc docx.
Suppose a space probe finds life on another earth-like planet orbiting a nearby star. What characteristics might those lifeforms share with life on earth? What characteristics would be different? Word Limit: 200 words
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
18 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.
© Copyright 2016 - 2018 National Centre for Biological Sciences